Welcome to the City of McGehee

The City of McGehee was incorporated March 5, 1906 and has a population of 4219. It is located at the southeast corner of the state.

The vitality of McGehee is apparent when visiting with any resident. McGehee boasts excellent schools, great places to eat, and wonderful hunting, fishing, and wildlife watching opportunities. A new medical clinic, hospital expansion, and the Boys & Girls Club set McGehee apart from other Delta communities.

McGehee Men’s Club and Women’s Service League add strength and support to the community. Downtown McGehee is home to Caboose Park, a rose garden, Veteran’s Memorial, and the WWII Japanese American Internment Museum, which preserves the history of internees once housed nearby. McGehee is located just ten miles from the Mississippi River, Choctaw Island Wildlife Management Area, and Delta Heritage Trail State Park — a levee-top and rails-to-trails bicycle trail.

We welcome all visitors to stay awhile and enjoy the pace of McGehee and the hospitality we offer.

The Mayor’s Office is located in the Municipal Complex at 901 Holly St. Highway 278 West and is handicap accessible.

Other offices in the Complex are the City Clerk, McGehee Ambulance Business Office, Chamber of Commerce, McGehee Water & Sewer, State Revenue Office, and the Veteran’s Office.

The City of McGehee is an equal opportunity employer and a drug free workplace.

We would like for you to visit our department links to see who we are and to visit the Chamber of Commerce link to find out more about our town and businesses.

View Bulletin Board
History of McGehee
EMERGENCY CONTACTS
ORDINANCES

2022 Holidays

New Year’s Day Friday, December 31, 2021
M.L. King Day Monday January 17
President’s Day Monday February 21
Good Friday April 15
Memorial Day Monday May 30
Juneteenth Monday June 20
Independence Day Monday July 4
Labor Day Monday September 5
Columbus Day Monday October 10
Veteran’s Day Thursday November 11
Thanksgiving Thursday & Friday November 24 & 25
Christmas Eve & Christmas Fri & Mon December 23 & 26

On holidays dumpsters will be placed at the north end of town by the grain elevator and on the south end of town by the tennis courts on “D” street depending on which day the holiday falls.